Price

$99

Logo of Lightspeed Retail
Ask Vendor A QuestionFind A Better App

Lightspeed Retail REVIEW

POS Software

4 user reviews
USER SATISFACTION 98%
OUR SCORE 8.8

What is Lightspeed Retail?

A cloud-based point-of-sale platform, Lightspeed Retail is designed to be accessed anytime and at any given place. The solution was created to cater to different types of retailers, which include apparel, footwear, pet, and home decor sellers. These businesses can benefit from using the solution as it enables them to meet their POS needs regardless of their size or nature of their products. Lightspeed Retail is meant to streamline and keep business operations running smoothly. The software won our Supreme Software Award for 2017.

The product has virtually everything you need in a POS system. It boasts of inventory management, quoting, ordering and invoicing tools, powerful reporting functionalities and jobs and timesheet features to boot. Using the software’s Lightspeed OnSite POS, switching in between management and sales can be accomplished is quick and easy.

With LighSpeed Retail, users can manage inventory and customers, handle transactions more easily and take a more indepth look at their businesses’ analytics. It is in a nutshell, a total e-commerce system that enables users to manage on-site and online inventory, while getting a singular view of customers and being able to conduct multi-channel data analysis.

With its multi-store capability, you can keep track of all your inventory across locations, with your staff able to check on them and sell from any of your outlets with an iPad. You can also come up with serial numbers, which you can track and assign to your products. A matrix system allows you to make product variations, which include size, material and color.

Overview of Lightspeed Retail Benefits

Lightspeed Retail is a cloud-based point-of-sale software that users can access anytime, anywhere. It was built to cater to retail businesses such as those in the apparel, pet, home decor and footwear sectors. Such enterprises stand to benefit from the product as it enables them to meet their POS requirements whatever their size or the products they are selling. The system effectively streamlines and assures that business operations run smoothly. There are many benefits in using the solution. Here are some of them:

A POS and more

With LightSpeed Retail, you have a total retail POS system that you can rely on. It has a wide array of functionalities that include quoting, invoicing, management and ordering tools. These are further complemented by robust reporting features and timesheet and jobs functionalities. Furthermore, switching between management and sales is possible using the app’s LightSpeed Onsite POS tool.

A total POS solution, the product can handle inventory and customers, conduct transaction with ease and exploit businesses’ analytics. It is a complete e-commerce tool that can also manage both onsite and online inventory, while giving you a picture of your customer base and allowing for multi-channel analysis. The platform also supports devices that run on Mac and iOS.

With Lightspeed Onsite, your staff have all the tools they need to perform most POS operations, including quoting, ordering, and invoicing. Everything they need is within reach, allowing them to lend assistance and service to their customers in every step of the sales cycle. Other features include time-billing, appointment scheduling, and product creation capabilities.

Inventory tracking

You can also track all your inventory across different locations as the platform has a multi-store capability. This feature allows staff to check inventory or sell from anywhere in your store with the use of an iPad. Aside from this, serial numbers can be created for use on your products, allowing you to track them with ease. A matrix system, meanwhile, allows for product variations, which may involve size, color and material.

LightSpeed Retail can monitor sales and inventory numbers, allowing you to see changes in your profits and sales. It can likewise integrate purchasing, transfers and different vendors into a single master order. Special orders, layaways and work orders may also be processed using the system. Users can  generate high-level sales reports and customizable in-depth data reports, providing them with high quality information that can be used to make smart and well-informed business decisions.

SEO and online store building

To help boost your Google, Bing and Yahoo ranking, the vendor included native SEO tools, which you can use without the need for training. Using these tools, you can add metadata to your products, along with page headings, product tags and descriptions and meta descriptions. The solution also sports a blogging system, which you can use to better connect with your customers.

So you want to perk up your online store? LightSpeed Retail can help you. It can build visually stunning online stores with themes that are highly-customizable and professional-looking. You can use your company logo, choose colors, fonts and page layout. This can greatly help you in coming up with your very own brand experience. You can choose from over 60 unique themes, add virtually unlimited number of images by simply dragging and dropping.

Setup and equipment

The platform is quick and easy to setup, you need only to link your account to your Google user account, with personalized onboarding offered absolutely for free. And in case you want to get the most out of your setup, the vendor can provide you additional hardware, which may include barcode scanners, cash drawers and receipt printers. What’s even better about the system is that it can smoothly integrate with popular social media platforms, enabling you to easily connect to your customers.

Overview of Lightspeed Retail Features

  • POS
  • Inventory Management
  • Purchasing Inventory
  • Omnichannel
  • Track Product Transfers
  • Sales Reports
  • Data Reports
  • Quoting
  • Ordering
  • Invoicing
  • Customer Profiling
  • Drag and Drop
  • Multi-Store Passwords
  • Advanced Reporting Uploader
  • Purchase Orders included in API
  • Customer feedback
  • A/B testing capabilities
  • Social media integration
  • Upsell/cross sell tools
  • Allows customers to write product reviews
  • Custom pricing creation
  • Three variations of checkout pages
  • Related products display
  • Marketplace creation
  • Integrated shipping
  • Automated emails for customers
  • Product customization

What Problems Will Lightspeed Retail Solve?

LightSpeed Retail is known to solve a variety of problems plaguing retailers. It allows business to run multiple stores at the same time, helping store owners quickly resolve issues such as inventory and customer database problems. The software is also capable of checking inventory and looking up customers from a single dashboard. Users can complete transactions from the system itself as it integrates with credit card machines. Unlike POS systems of old, LightSpeed Retail is easy to use. It also costs very little to maintain and works pretty well with new technologies.

Awards & Quality Certificates

Lightspeed Retail Position In Our Categories

Position of Lightspeed Retail in our main categories:

empty icon
20

Lightspeed Retail is one of the top 20 Mobile Payment Systems products

empty icon
100

Lightspeed Retail is one of the top 100 Sales Software products

empty icon
20

Lightspeed Retail is one of the top 20
Mobile Payment Systems products

empty icon
100

Lightspeed Retail is one of the top 100
Sales Software products


Lightspeed Retail is also listed in the following subcategories:

Category:Position:Category:Position:
POS Software#8
Category:Position:
POS Software#8

There are popular and widely used systems in each software category. But are they essentially the best fit for your company’s specific needs? A market-leading software product may have thousands of customers, but does it offer what you need? For this reason, do not blindly spend on popular systems. Read at least a few Lightspeed Retail reviews and consider the elements that you wish to have in the software such as the price, main tools, available integrations etc. Then, shortlist a few solutions that fit your requirements. Try out the free trials of these apps, read online comments, get clarifications from the seller, and do your homework systematically. This in-depth homework is sure to aid you choose the best software platform for your firm’s unique needs.

How Much Does Lightspeed Retail Cost?

Lightspeed Retail Pricing Plans:

Basic Plan – $99/month per store

  • 1 register
  • Up to 5 employee accesses
  • Omnichannel capabilities
  • Personalized onboarding
  • 24/7 support
  • Free updates
  • Secure cloud backup
  • Basic reporting

If you need more functionalities, you can directly contact the vendor and request a customized quote.

User Satisfaction

We realize that when you make a decision to buy POS Software it’s important not only to see how experts evaluate it in their reviews, but also to find out if the real people and companies that buy it are actually satisfied with the product. That’s why we’ve created our behavior-based Customer Satisfaction Algorithm™ that gathers customer reviews, comments and Lightspeed Retail reviews across a wide range of social media sites. The data is then presented in an easy to digest form showing how many people had positive and negative experience with Lightspeed Retail. With that information at hand you should be equipped to make an informed buying decision that you won’t regret.

POSITIVE SOCIAL MENTIONS

26

NEGATIVE SOCIAL MENTIONS

1

Video

Technical details

Devices Supported
  • Windows
  • iPhone/iPad
  • Mac
Language Support
  • English
  • Dutch
Pricing Model
  • Monthly payment
  • Quote-based
Customer Types
  • Small Business
  • Large Enterprises
  • Medium Business
Deployment
  • Cloud Hosted
  • On Premise

What Support Does This Vendor Offer?

  • EMAIL
  • PHONE NO.
  • TRAINING
  • TICKETS

Lightspeed Retail User Reviews


Anonymous Reviewer 2 months ago
Verified
user


Dain Hamilton

Dain Hamilton 4 months ago
Verified
user


Chris Jabbori

Chris Jabbori 7 months ago
Verified
user


What are Lightspeed Retail pricing details?

Lightspeed Retail Pricing Plans:

Basic Plan – $99/month per store

  • 1 register
  • Up to 5 employee accesses
  • Omnichannel capabilities
  • Personalized onboarding
  • 24/7 support
  • Free updates
  • Secure cloud backup
  • Basic reporting

If you need more functionalities, you can directly contact the vendor and request a customized quote.

What integrations are available for Lightspeed Retail?

Lightspeed POS integrates with the following business systems and applications

  • Facebook
  • Agendrix
  • AppCard
  • Bike Exchange
  • Booxi
  • Cayan
  • iZettle
  • Kosmos eSync
  • MailSync
  • MarketMan
  • Mercury
  • Mobikon
  • Moneris
  • NimbleSchedule
  • Perkville
  • Shoutem
  • skuIQ
  • TYRO
  • WooCommerce

User reviews


User reviews in total: 4

2
0
0
0
2

Average Rating:

Write your own review of this product

Add a review

The most favorable review

Adam Kohn

4 months ago


Pros: The ease of use. The consistency. The customer support. The simplification of my end of the day 'closing' the register. The ease of the monthly reports.

Cons: I really don't have any 'problematic' or 'could work better' areas of the software. It does exactly what I need it to do, everyday.

The least favorable review

Anonymous Reviewer

2 months ago


Pros: 1. They have a fast support response team. They won't have an answer for your problem but they will pick up your call. (Greg, Luka, Matt, couple of the great support staff they have at light speed)2. Lightspeed is a good price point for their software. You can have 7 iPads with lightspeed but only pay for 5 systems. This is great if you need to accept payment in different parts of your store. Downside is you can only be using lightspeed on 5 devices at a time but thats fine, you usually never do.3. They are constantly updating their software, better or worse. I know they are listening and trying to update the software asap.4. Its iPad based, if you need to switch to another IPAD based POS its easy.5. The interface on the iPad for ringing customers up is intuitive. If you set up your categories correctly and color coordinate and place your items strategically, light speed is very easy to use and it doesn’t require much training for younger staff.Would be great only for small stores, Any store that has tons of customer rushes or restaurants should stay away.

Cons: Where can I start...I am only writing this review after a WHOLE YEAR of using horrible Lightspeed experience. I write this review to warn you, I did my research but clearly not enough. I measured all the pros and cons of every POS and at the end of the day Lightspeed was not the right choice. DO NOT use this system. They might offer you these features and price points but at the end of the day, your business will suffer greatly because of them… I have a tech background and I still had trouble setting up their system. I am not a TOAST POS representative but check them out instead. Don’t do it. I’m warning you. It's a mistake that will cost you your entire business.If you still don’t believe me, I will tell you more..I know every single support staff by voice from Greg, Luka, Matt, Lorimay, Nino, Lliana….ect These people are all great, they really tried to help me with the problems but at the end of the day, great support is only great when the software can perform. I don't think any of the people that work on the lightspeed software have ever used their system in a real fast pace restaurant or quick service before. I'm sure they've "tested" their software in a restaurant while holding the restaurant's hand every step of the way, but when it comes down to it, the problems that I've faced using their system just shows you that they never fully tested their system.1. Transactions don't go through sometimes. The payment processing device and lightspeed lose information sometimes and lightspeed tells my employees that the payment didn't go through. This ends up my employees assuming the payment didn't go through and double charging my customers.2. The online ordering system that they provide for "integration" through their 3rd party software is a joke. They never evaluated the actual software and have it as a feature to bait you to buy their software. From Zuppler to Mobi2go, I've spoken with all of their providers and it's definitely not a solution for a busy restaurant.3. Don't be surprised if some of your orders don't print to the kitchen and your customer have to wait over an hour wondering where their food is. The system randomly skips orders. (They did fix it, only after many months of my suffrage)4. You can't print a past receipt or even email it to someone if the email hasn't already been attached to the receipt. (work around is to take a screenshot of the receipt and attach it to the email of the customer or print it out)5. Their “new” gift cards suck. They don’t even print the remaining amount on the receipt. Also, you have to buy this $350 bluetooth scanner called socket. It's not for restaurants it will break. You have to also buy a charging station for this scanner. This scanner must be connected EVERY DAY. The connection dies and you must reconnect it using the iPad settings>bluetooth. If you don’t want to buy this scanner, you can type in the number for the gift card manually; however, if one of your employees make a mistake the gift card transaction will go through but there won’t be any money on that card. Example: card digit is 123456 but employees types in 12345 the transaction will go through and everything seems to find until the customer comes back and sees that there's no balance on their card.6. To complete a cash transaction it is : Step 1. Ring up the customer  Step 2. Press Pay  Step 3. Press Cash  Step 4. Enter the Amount of cash given by the customer  Step 5. Lightspeed will open the cash drawer and tell our employee how much cash needs to be given back to the customer  Step 6. Our employee gives the cash difference to the customer  Step 7. Our employee closes the cash drawer  Step 8. Our employee Taps on Cash 1 more time  Step 9. The cash drawer opens again  Step 10. The employee closes the cash drawer This is the current workflow of completing cash exchanges. However, in this step, there's an unnecessary step of Step 8. They have to close the cash drawer twice for every transaction.7. Searching for a receipt on the back-end is VERY difficult. You can't search by the amount and nor can you search by the credit card #. Good luck finding a transaction since you can’t find it easily. (they have shown me a new update that fixes this but I’ve yet to see it work)8.Creating modifiers for products is SUPER difficult. Lets say you have 10 sandwiches with and each sandwich has a default bread and default cheese. Lets say these sandwiches all have different default bread and cheese. (Pretty common thing) To make modifiers for these sandwiches you need to make 10 similar modifiers with each modifier’s default to be set to the one you want for the bread and 10 for the cheese. SQUARE does a great job in tackling this problem but SQUARES features are so limited to I can’t use them.9.They have a “Self-Ordering” system. However, this system will show your ENTIRE menu to the customer. Their work around is to put a fake discount button so certain items don’t show… This is their solution for me. Pretty sad that they didn’t think restaurants wouldn’t want their entire menu on a self-ordering system. Also, you have to pay for another monthly device for their payment processor.10. In the past modifiers wouldn’t print. Lets say two customers get a grilled cheese. One asked for tomatoes and One didn’t. On lightspeed’s receipts it will print without showing the modifier randomly..meaning my employees get confused and they give the wrong sandwich to the wrong customer. Doesn’t seem like a big deal until that customer has a HUGE allergic reaction and goes to the hospital and your business is now in a lawsuit. (Lightspeed has fixed this issue but I dealt with this for many months with no solution. They wouldn’t believe me in the beginning and told me they are working on it but never got any response until months later)11.During one of our busiest days, they decided to update their lite server. Of course something went wrong and all our devices stopped working. It turned out one of their engineers messed up and pushed out code. In turn they were “sorry” but I lost a lot of business that day. They didn’t offer anything but an apology and that its fixed. I lost thousands of dollars that day of sales and employees working and taking down orders with a pen and paper.12.If you’re in the US, you will have to use CAYAN. That's their payment processor. Honestly, they suck too. Lightspeed and Cayan do not sync up and they don’t have any communication in place for when problems happen. They just blame each other and say that's on each other's end. Cayan once told me I had to go through every single receipt every day to count the tips I’ve gotten for the day to add the tip total. I have 800 customers daily.. Talk about a great solution..13.They have a new “kitchen display” it sucks as well. Its really not thought through all the way. Once you finish an order the receipt disappear. You can’t find it easily unless you go back into light speed and have the receipt ID #. The idea of the kitchen display was to get rid of receipts, however, with their current system you can’t since if you need to find that receipt again you need to go through a big hassle to find the receipt.If you’ve gotten this far to read this..you either work at lightspeed or you’re really debating whether you should still use lightspeed. At the end of the day, it's your choice. There are so many more options out there, why risk your business’s future on software that isn’t there yet.If you work at lightspeed, I’m sorry I had to post this terrible review on you guys but I am really frustrated. Sending me a $50 giftcard isn’t really a great apology. I’d much rather have a conference call with someone higher up who can make real changes happen. I’m still here using lightspeed but at the end of the day..I will probably have to make a change soon. I really want to believe in your software because of the 100s of hours I spent on it but I can’t when basic functionalities don’t work. Heres my case #401865. Matt, your technical specialist, is working with me on a lot of these problems and is doing a great job but I definitely need to talk to someone higher up about these issues.

Anonymous Reviewer
Report a concern

Published 2 months ago
Verified
user
1. They have a fast support response team. They won't have an answer for your problem but they will pick up your call. (Greg, Luka, Matt, couple of the great support...



What do you think about this review? Great Poor
Published 4 months ago
Verified
user
The ease of use. The consistency. The customer support. The simplification of my end of the day 'closing' the register. The ease of the monthly reports.



What do you think about this review? Great Poor
Dain Hamilton
Report a concern

Published 4 months ago
Verified
user
This program streamlines every aspect of the back end of my business. Reordering is a breeze and I can do it from home anywhere. Checking in orders is also very easy and...



What do you think about this review? Great Poor
Chris Jabbori
Report a concern

Published 7 months ago
Verified
user
Customer service can be ok if you hang up on them and keep calling until you get someone that is knowledgeable.




What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Thank you for submitting your review!

In order to ensure high-quality of our reviews we'll have to verify your email address. Please insert your email address below.

Thank you!

A verification email has been sent to the address you provided. Please click on the link in that email to finalize your review submission.

Page last modified