Hostwinds REVIEW

Hosting Services

USER SATISFACTION 94% ?
OUR SCORE 8.6 ?

What is Hostwinds?

Founded in 2010, Hostwinds is a web hosting company formed with the purpose of providing businesses with a set of low-priced yet great hosting products in a very saturated market. Based in Tulsa, OK, Hostwinds is a customer-centered hosting company that combines great and excellent features for prices that won’t break the bank. On top of their awesome hosting solutions, Hostwinds is also known for their top class customer support.

Uptime & Reliability of Hostwinds

Hostwinds offers a 99.9% uptime guarantee and strives to deliver such promise by constantly monitoring their servers and deploying  state of the art generators for continuous flow of power supply. Hostwinds servers are housed in Dallas, TX inside the Dallas Infomart, the world’s first technology market center. The data center is temp-controlled by an extensive cooling system that includes four 500-ton Four 500-ton Trane Chillers and Liebert Air Handling Units, among others.

In terms of facility security, Hostwinds parades 24/7 Armed Security, entry and exit points guarded by Check In stations, video surveillance, and a perimeter fence with Gate Access control.

Overview of Hostwinds Features

  • Unlimited Hosting
  • Reseller Hosting
  • Vps Hosting
  • Dedicated Servers
  • Windows Vps
  • Services
  • Web Application
  • Vpn Service
  • Minecraft Servers
  • FAQS
  • Knowledge Base
  • Submit A Ticket
  • Live Chat
  • Email Support
  • Website Transfers
  • 60 Day Money Back Guarantee
  • 99.9% Uptime Guarantee

How Much Does Hostwinds Cost?

Shared Web Hosting Plans
PriceStorageBandwidthNo. of domainsNo. of emails
Basic$4.50UnlimitedUnlimited1No info
Advanced$5.50UnlimitedUnlimited4No info
Ultimate$6.50UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedNo info
VPS Hosting Plans
PriceStorageBandwidthNo. of domainsNo. of IP addressesRAM
Budget VPS Hosting$7.5025GB100mbps (unmetered)No infoNo info1GB RAM
Premium VPS Hosting$13.5050GBUnlimitedNo infoNo info1GB RAM
Windows VPS Hosting$13.5050GBUnlimitedNo infoNo info1GB RAM
SSD Linux Hosting$13.5025GBUnlimitedNo infoNo info1GB RAM
SSD Windows Hosting$13.5050GBUnlimitedNo infoNo info1GB RAM
Dedicated server plans
PriceStorageBandwidthType of processorNo. of IP addressesRAM
Intel E3-1270V3$100No infoNo info4 cores x 3.9 GHz TurboNo info8GB
Intel E5-1620V3$165No infoNo info4 cores x 3.7 GHzNo info48GB
E5-2620V2$175No infoNo info6 cores x 2.6GhzNo info48GB
Dual(2) Intel Xeon E5645's$ 175No infoNo info6 cores x 2.67 GHzNo info48GB
Dual(2) AMD Opteron 6272's$475No infoNo info32 cores x 2.1GHzNo info128GB

CPanel of Hostwinds

Hostwinds offers cPanel, a web-based control panel that gives users the tools to manage their domains via a web interface. With cPanel, users can have as much control and responsibility of managing their domains, including technical aspects like email information, backup, FTP, CGI scripts, and website analytics.

Pros & Cons of Hostwinds

Pros

  • Helpful and knowledgeable customer support staff
  • Great hosting services coupled with service reliability and good tech support

Cons

  • Tricky affiliate program
  • Rocky website transfer with instances of lost information

Hostwinds Position In Our Categories

Position of Hostwinds in our main categories:

100

Hostwinds is one of the top 100 Hosting Services products


Every enterprise is different, and may require a specific solution that will be adjusted to their company size, type of customers and employees and even specific industry they deal with. You should not count on finding a perfect service that will be suitable for every company no matter what their background is. It may be a good idea to read a few Hostwinds reviews first and even then you should pay attention to what the hosting service is supposed to do for your business and your staff. Do you require an easy and straightforward hosting with just basic features? Will you actually make use of the advanced functionalities required by pros and big enterprises? Are there any particular features that are especially useful for the industry you operate in? If you ask yourself these questions it will be much easier to locate a solid service that will match your budget.

User Satisfaction

We realize that when you make a decision to buy Hosting Services it’s important not only to see how experts evaluate it in their reviews, but also to find out if the real people and companies that buy it are actually satisfied with the product. That’s why we’ve created our behavior-based Customer Satisfaction Algorithm™ that gathers customer reviews, comments and Hostwinds reviews across a wide range of social media sites. The data is then presented in an easy to digest form showing how many people had positive and negative experience with Hostwinds. With that information at hand you should be equipped to make an informed buying decision that you won’t regret.

POSITIVE SOCIAL MENTIONS

35

NEGATIVE SOCIAL MENTIONS

2

Technical details

Top features
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • Unlimited diskspace
  • Wordpress hosting
  • Unlimited sites
Platform
  • Windows
  • Linux
Scripting & Languages
  • Perl
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Ruby on rails
Control Panel
  • CPanel
Easy Installs
  • Drupal
  • Fantastico/Softaculous
  • Magento
  • Wordpress
  • SSL
Server Location
  • USA
Databases
  • PHPMyAdmin
  • MySQL
Support
  • Phone
  • Live chat
  • Knowledge base
  • Tickets

Customer support details

Hostwinds provides multiple customer support channels that include support tickets, phone, live chat, and email. The company also offers knowledgebase articles and FAQs for minor and easy to fix issues and concerns.

What are Hostwinds pricing details?

Shared Web Hosting Plans
PriceStorageBandwidthNo. of domainsNo. of emails
Basic$4.50UnlimitedUnlimited1No info
Advanced$5.50UnlimitedUnlimited4No info
Ultimate$6.50UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedNo info
VPS Hosting Plans
PriceStorageBandwidthNo. of domainsNo. of IP addressesRAM
Budget VPS Hosting$7.5025GB100mbps (unmetered)No infoNo info1GB RAM
Premium VPS Hosting$13.5050GBUnlimitedNo infoNo info1GB RAM
Windows VPS Hosting$13.5050GBUnlimitedNo infoNo info1GB RAM
SSD Linux Hosting$13.5025GBUnlimitedNo infoNo info1GB RAM
SSD Windows Hosting$13.5050GBUnlimitedNo infoNo info1GB RAM
Dedicated Server Plans
PriceStorageBandwidthType of processor (with no. of cores)No. of IP addressesRAM
Intel E3-1270V3$100No infoNo info4 cores x 3.9 GHz TurboNo info8GB
Intel E5-1620V3$165No infoNo info4 cores x 3.7 GHzNo info48GB
E5-2620V2$175No infoNo info6 cores x 2.6GhzNo info48GB
Dual(2) Intel Xeon E5645's$ 175No infoNo info6 cores x 2.67 GHzNo info48GB
Dual(2) AMD Opteron 6272's$475No infoNo info32 cores x 2.1GHzNo info128GB

FAQ for Hostwinds

  1. Is it a good service for e-commerce? Do they give you SSL, shopping carts and payment processing?

    Hostwinds provide SSL certificates for $35, which also includes installation. Magento is also included in Hostwinds’ eCommerce library.

  2. Do they provide unlimited email addresses and bandwidth?

    Yes, Hostwinds offers unlimited email addresses and generous amounts of traffic/bandwidth each month.

  3. Do they offer an uptime guarantee and pay you back for downtime?

    Hostwinds guarantees 99.9% uptime for their clients. If Hostwinds fail to deliver such guarantee for a particular site, a deduction will be made from that client‘s invoice.

  4. Do they offer CPanel or any other control panels?

    Hostwinds offer Cpanel web-based management interface.

  5. Do you get a free domain with their hosting plan?

    No information available.

  6. Are their hosting services secure?

    Hostwinds provide basic security features for their plans but for an additional monthly fee, users get the Advanced Website Monitoring add-on. This particular feature gives websites around-the-clock monitoring and instantly notifies users with a help ticket in the event of downtime. For another monthly fee, users get the ID Protection add-on, which hides users' name and addresses in the Whois Registry.

    Hostwinds servers are housed in Dallas, Texas inside the Dallas Infomart, the world's first technology market center. The data center is cooled by an extensive cooling system that includes four 500-ton Four 500-ton Trane Chillers and Liebert Air Handling Units among others.

    In terms of facility security, Hostwinds parades 24/7 Armed Security, entry and exit points guarded by Check In stations, video surveillance, and a perimeter fence with Gate Access control.

  7. How can I pay for their services?

    Hostwinds accepts all forms of major credit cards and online payment channels like PayPal, PayZa, and Google Checkout.

  8. Is it a reliable hosting solution for Wordpress?

    Hostwinds provides 100% WordPress support.

  9. Do they enable you to effortlessly create a website with no HTML or coding knowledge?

    Hostwinds provides clients with Trendy Tools, a popular website builder for cPanel hosts. The builder is quite easy to use and not overwhelming even for those with little to no HTML or coding knowledge.

  10. Do they offer both Windows and Linux hosting services?

    Yes. Hostwinds offers hosting services for both Windows and Linux.

User reviews


32 Reviews

29
3
0
0
0

Average Rating

Write your own review of this product

Add a review

Xavier H.

Published 2 days ago

I love Hostwinds because of consistent professional quality and easy accessibility for all my site needs. Every staff has been highly responsive to my questions and concerns with clear, concise answers to my questions, citations of rationale for their answers, patience, and politeness.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Ennos

Published 4 days ago

Good assistance with migrating files from my old web host (what a help that was!)
Hostwinds, in my experience, provide an exemplary service. Beyond the bits and bytes the people that maintain it are very professional and really understand the needs of modern IT. Highly recommend their ssd web hosting services.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Pearly Hough

Published 1 week ago

I like this host, hostwinds.com is professional one. It never gave me the headache with downtime problems, and the support team has been very helpful and easy to communicate with. They are apologetic when there were problems and they give fast solutions. You get what an effective web host for a price that’s right.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Joo Zsanett

Published 4 weeks ago

Hostwinds is cheap and provide good, reliable service without limitation on space or bandwidth. I love their scripts installer feature so I can test most popular Content Management Systems. I’m a big fan of Joomla and hostwinds is great for me. It is cheap and I get a lot of tools to play around with – some and I haven’t even used yet but still. A generous host that haven’t let me down in any way.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Kancja Wiska

Published 1 month ago

They’re cheap, and HostWinds hosting features are just great for the price. Easy access to my data and mail, and the fastest, most reliable customer service in the industry. My customer support questions are answered within 1 hour. The answers I receive are clear and very helpful.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

I am happy and satisfied.

Published 2 months ago

I am happy and satisfied with the customer service of Hostwinds Hosting. Helpful, friendly manner, prompt reply. Services are resourceful and uptime is high. Their prices are not high. They are good for me.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Aiden Jerrems

Published 2 months ago

I have ever used and I highly recommend it to anyone without reservations. There are no hidden traps or fees. Service is excellent and they also have several ways to get customer support, which is also excellent. Hostwinds tech support always answers my questions within 5 minutes. And they have even given me PHP support mySQL support.
I really enjoy my hosting experience dealing with this decent litespeed ssd web host.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Callas Palacios

Published 3 months ago

Can say that hostwinds is an excellent web host, easy to set up fast and through help and support service. Good range of price plans. They also offer the opportunity to install up to 340 CMS in one click. Good ssd web host. Speed is good, and the price isn’t bad at all. Especially considering I never have to worry about unplanned server upgrades & PHP changes affecting my clients’ websites.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Mary G. Yarbrough

Published 3 months ago

Amazingly quick support response. My previous hosting company used to take 12 hours to respond to anything, with HostWinds I got my first reply after 15 minutes and after a quick exchange to sort out the details the change I wanted was made 35 minutes after the initial request.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Matilda Gunning

Published 3 months ago

Everything performs smoothly so far. I am satisfied with Hostwinds due to their stable shared hosting and user-friendly featured accounts. Customer support has been great in helping me since initial setup and till now whenever I need. They will walk you through the problem or they’ll take care of it for you.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Benice Sander

Published 4 months ago

Some days ago our server was hacked. Hostwinds Hosting quickly stopped the hacked connection, blocked the IP address from the offending computer, reloaded affected documents with backups and reset our password. I am glad that they were able to act so quickly.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Audrey Foll

Published 4 months ago

So, when I contact tech support, the support team’s response is fast and courteous. When Hostwinds’ server is up and running speed is fine and everything is great. I am satisfied with their services.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Mary Fryar

Published 5 months ago

I am amazed that Hostwinds.com SSD Host can deliver this quality service at this price. Normally low price comes at the expense of quality or service. But not here. They respond quickly to technical queries and have been very very helpful. I can’t recommend them enough.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Bohdana Blazkova

Published 5 months ago

I rarely need to interact with their support services because my websites are always functional and run well. The only couple of times I needed to ask them about some software tweaks because I had not enough knowledge and experience in all that hosting stuff. Support services have been absolutely superb with willingness, kindness and expertise. These folks go the EXTRA mile for you and I am absolutely happy using Hostwinds.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Fast and reliable!

Published 5 months ago

My recent service call was handled very professionally, promptly and correctly. It’s a really good job and I recommend to use them. Their prices are affordable for me though my budget is not high. By the way they have solved lots of my issues which happened unexpectedly.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Steve Alber

Published 5 months ago

We have not noticed any downtime or email issues and they are always sending message about new and upgraded features they add to the standard packages. I am very happy and proud that I run web sites with them. I highly recommend hostwinds ssd web hosting services to others.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Marila

Published 6 months ago

I was very surprised how stable their hosting is because recently my previos host provided uptime at level of 99.8% and they said it is normal. Now I see that host can provide real 100% like Hostwinds provides for me. Sure there are some occasions when they do server reboots, but they warn their clients about that. I cannot wish more and very satisfied.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Tomica

Published 6 months ago

I’ve been using Hostwinds for a half-year, but it feels like eternity, because their service is so cool and technical staff provides everything needed to feel comfortable and safe with them. I am with ssd shared hosting and get 100% uptime in exception of server scheduled reboots and maintenance. Support is available all round the clock and reply in 20-30 minutes, they are kind and always follow up your issue until it is fully resolved.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Elijah Fabro

Published 7 months ago

I can say that hostwinds.com provide professional hosting services. I changed the webhost because I needed MySQL 5.0 and honestly I wish I didn’t! This web host is for people who need a stable webhost with reliability and friendly support.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Servs van Lanen

Published 9 months ago

Hostwinds is an extremely proficient host and usually manages to answer support tickets in 10 minutes or less.
Everyone who visits my site is always impressed….so if you want to “set it and forget it” these are the dependable, trustworthy people you’re looking for. They also offer great tools, easy to use with intuitive video training available.
Seriously, i’ve tried many web hosting providers and so far, this has been the BEST!


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Excellent service.

Published 9 months ago

Excellent service they provide. Guy on the phone was very knowledgeable and helpful. We had a problem earlier in the week and to insure that it would be fixed he stayed on the line with me and worked to insure things were corrected. When the email did not go through he alerted me and asked me to send it to a different location.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Ivan Rend

Published 9 months ago

Hostwinds is top-notch! Hosting service provided by them is reliable and fair. Servers are properly maintained and I have never experienced unexpected technical troubles. All software is working fine, no errors or slowdowns. Support team is there when you need and have rich experience in any hosting aspect. Highly recommend them if you need real quality of service.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Mister Udinese

Published 10 months ago

I’ve used (and abused) many hosting services over the years.
Hostwinds have not only been extremely reliable, but also flexible.
Well, I would like to say that their support team respond quickly to my support tickets, and keep introducing cool new services and add-ons.
Their pricing is also extremely fair, especially when considering their reliability, service and support.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Mister Udinese

Published 10 months ago

I’ve used (and abused) many hosting services over the years.
Hostwinds have not only been extremely reliable, but also flexible.
Well, I would like to say that their support team respond quickly to my support tickets, and keep introducing cool new services and add-ons.
Their pricing is also extremely fair, especially when considering their reliability, service and support.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

8+ months. Good hosting

Published 10 months ago

8+ months is the time I have been with Hostwinds. They are reliable partner and deliver good service for me. At some extend someone might consider them as the company with not really fast support, but this does not demage overall great impression.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Birkeland

Published 10 months ago

Their support has always been excellent, very reactive when problems occurred (including when it was our fault, like a highjacked email account because of a terrible password) or when an operation was needed (installing certificate, etc). They helped us find adequate solutions to our needs, and discussion was very open. Migrating from shared hosting to managed dedicated server couldn’t have been easier.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Lyons

Published 11 months ago

I haven’t experienced a more responsive, more responsible and customer oriented hosting company as Hostwinds. I am totally satisfied by their tech support, price and the complaint free reputation. They have fast servers and connectivity which makes my websites lightning-fast loading. It is very important for me that my website should always be fast and accessible, so I am going to stay with Hostwinds until they provide similar level of quality service.


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Jorg Wirtz

Published 11 months ago

I am very happy with the excellent support received from Hostwinds for cleaning my website database system, php, joomla which were attacked by malicious files. I am so relieved and I can only say that you very much!!!
I use Hostwinds for both of my websites, and have always had nothing but good things about them. Quality service for a very affordable price, and not to mention there customer service is top notch. I have had questions throughout the past about issues, and some not even concerning there product and they are still willing to help and provide any information that they can! I would recommend this service to everyone in need of a hosting company!


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Alex

Published 11 months ago

With Hostwinds everything is working smooth and with no headaches. I am using their ssd shared hosting and even with lowest plan I get full service like 24/7 client support and guaranteed uptime. Definitely recommend them to everyone!


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Hostwinds ssd hosting service is cheap with lots of great features!

Published 12 months ago

I love the plans and how your space and bandwidth increases each month. Hostwinds.com keep improving their plans. and unlike many other hosts.. these improvements are applied to new AND existing customers. You can’t beat the price, the support is wonderful and quick, they love giving their users (new AND old) all sorts of goodies. I love the referral program.
I have been extremely happy using their hosting services. Recommend this host!

1 person thinks this review is helpful


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Marijana Kovac

Published 12 months ago

They have a very professional support team, they helped me install scripts with no hassle. Their features are exactly what is needed and is easy to use. My hosting speed is quite fast and traffic is good and I recommend to use them for those who are interested in getting quality services.

1 person thinks this review is helpful


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

My VPS is very quick. I highly recommend these guys!

Published 12 months ago

Unbelievable, Hostwinds Uptime is (nearly) 100%. You know, I’ve encountered a few small hick-ups in the last 9 months but in fact I haven’t encountered any problems during the last 5 months. You’ll get all the help you need from the very beginning of your relationship with these people, and at a remarkably competitive price.
I am very happy with the performance of my sites there.

2 people think this review is helpful


What do you think about this review? Great Poor

Rate this Software

click on star to change rating

Write a Review

A good review is:

Both detailed and specific

Consider writing about:

  • Pros & Cons
  • Share your experience with the product and vendor

Thank you for submitting your review!

In order to ensure high-quality of our reviews we'll have to verify your email address. Please insert your email address below.

Thank you!

A verification email has been sent to the address you provided. Please click on the link in that email to finalize your review submission.

Page last modified